KKR New Captain, Shreyas Iyer, IPL 2022: Kolkata Knight Riders announce captain, this Indian player has the command – Kkr new captain Shreyas Iyer ipl 2022 mega auction

Story Highlights

  • Shreyas Iyer appointed as captain of Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Bought in mega auction for Rs 12.25 crore

KKR New Captain, Shreyas Iyer: After the mega auction of the Indian Premier League (IPL) is over, now the teams have started working on their strategy. Bollywood star Shahrukh Khan’s team Kolkata Knight Riders has declared Team India’s star batsman Shreyas Iyer as its captain. KKR bought Shreyas Iyer for Rs 12.25 crore.

Shreyas was the captain of Delhi Capitals

Let us tell you that Shreyas Iyer has earlier captained Delhi Capitals in IPL, but before the start of last season Shreyas got injured, so Delhi handed over the captaincy to Rishabh Pant. Even after the return of Shreyas Iyer, Delhi retained Rishabh as its captain, so he decided to leave the team.

Before the auction, there was talk that Shreyas Iyer might join the first IPL franchise in Lucknow or Ahmedabad, but he did not get the leadership role there. In such a situation, now when Kolkata Knight Riders bought Shreyas Iyer in the auction, it was clear that the command of the team was going to come in his hands.

KKR’s command has been in the hands of veterans

Kolkata Knight Riders have won the IPL title twice and the names of veterans have been included in the list of their captains. From Sourav Ganguly to Gautam Gambhir and finally Eoin Morgan was in command of KKR.

• Sourav Ganguly – 2008-10, 13 wins
• Brendon McCullum – 2009, 3 wins
• Gautam Gambhir – 2011-2017, 69 wins
• Jacques Kallis – 2011 – 1 win
• Dinesh Karthik – 2018-2020 – 19 wins
• Eoin Morgan – 2020-2021 – 11 wins

Kolkata Knight Riders Squad

Retention List- Andre Russell (12 cr), Varun CV (8 cr), Venkatesh Iyer (8 cr), Sunil Narine (6 cr)

Batsman/Wicketkeeper- Shreyas Iyer (12.25 crore), Sheldon Jackson (60 lakh), Ajinkya Rahane (1 crore), Rinku Singh (55 lakh), Baba Inderjit (20 lakh), Abhijit Tomar (40 lakh), Sam Billings (2 crore), Alex Helms (1.50 cr)

all-rounder- Pat Cummins (7.25 crores), Nitish Rana (8 crores), Shivam Mavi (7.25 crores), Anukul Roy (20 lakhs), Chamika Karunaratne (50 lakhs), Pratham Singh (20 lakhs), Ramesh Kumar (20 lakhs), Mohd. Nabi (1 crore), Aman Hakim Khan (20 lakh)

bowler- Rasik Dar (20 lakhs), Ashok Sharma (55 lakhs), Tim Southee (1.5 crores), Umesh Yadav (2 crores) Squad Strength – 25 (17 Indians, 8 foreigners)

Source link

Leave a Comment