Women’s Asia Cup T20: Indian women’s team will show strength in Asia Cup, will face Sri Lanka in the first match – Women’s Asia Cup 2022 India Women vs Sri Lanka Women Match Preview tspo

Women’s Asia Cup T20The Indian women’s team is ready to make a splash in the Asia Cup T20 cricket tournament after a clean sweep in the ODI series against England. She will leave the ‘run out’ controversy behind and get off to a strong start in the tournament. His first match will be against Sri Lanka on Saturday, the match will start at 1.00 pm Indian time. Indian women haven’t had much success in the T20 format recently, but the Harmanpreet Kaur-led side will start as the top contenders for the title in this continental competition.

Indian team has won the title 6 times

Except for the last tournament, India has won the title every time in the Asia Cup since 2004. He has won four titles in the ODI format and two in the T20 format. The Asia Cup was changed from ODI to T20 format in 2012. India has won it twice since then, having lost to Bangladesh in the previous tournament in 2018.

The Indian team will try to maintain its dominance in this tournament being held after four years due to Kovid-19, the previous tournament was to be played in Bangladesh in 2020, but was postponed due to the Kovid-19 epidemic.

The Indian women’s cricket team suffered a 1-2 loss in the T20I series against England earlier this month after winning a historic silver medal at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games.

The last series was in the news due to the ‘run out’ controversy

But the team led by Harmanpreet Kaur made a spectacular comeback in the ODIs and gave a grand farewell to veteran fast bowler Jhulan Goswami with a clean sweep 3-0. In the end, however, this series was in the news for being run out at the non-strike end.

Indian all-rounder Deepti Sharma had run out England batsman Charlie Dean for leaving the crease before bowling the ball. Running out in this manner is considered legitimate, but it is not considered sportsmanship. The Indian team will try to leave this incident behind and move forward with positive aspects.

Jemima Rodrigues’ return to the team will strengthen

Captain Harmanpreet is in excellent form as far as the performance of the players is concerned, while Smriti Mandhana is also batting well but Shefali Verma, Sabineni Meghna and Dayalan Hemlata need to do well. Jemima Rodrigues, who missed the series against England due to a hand injury, has returned to the team. Richa Ghosh is also in the team who was not selected for the Commonwealth Games. Renuka Singh will be responsible for the Indian fast bowling, while the responsibility of the spin department will be on the shoulders of Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gaikwad and Deepti.

On the other hand, the Sri Lankan team is heavily dependent on the captain Chamari Atapattu. Chamari’s responsibility has increased with young Vishmi Gunaratne being ruled out due to injury. The responsibility of Sri Lanka’s middle order will be on Hasini Perera and Harshita Samarawickrama, while the responsibility of the bowling attack will be largely on spinners Inoka Ranvira and Oshadi Ranasinghe.

A total of 7 teams (India, Pakistan, Thailand, Sri Lanka, Malaysia, United Arab Emirates and host Bangladesh) are participating in the tournament. Each team will play each other in a round robin format and thus play six matches. The top four teams in the league stage will advance to the semi-finals.

The teams are as follows –

India: Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Shafali Verma, Jemima Rodrigues, Sabineni Meghna, Richa Ghosh (wk), Sneh Rana, Dayalan Hemlata, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gaikwad, Radha Yadav, KP Navgire .

Sri Lanka: Chamari Atapattu (captain), Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Achini Kulsuriya, Sugandhika Kumari, Harshita Madhavi, Madushika Methtananda, Hasini Perera, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Inoka Ranveera, Anushka Sanjeevani (wk), Kaushani Nuthyangana, Rashmi Sylva Thashendi

Source link

About admin

Check Also

Roger Binny Family details Stuart Binny Cricketer Mayanti Langer Star Anchor Son Cricketer, Daughter-in-law Anchor, BCCI President Family

Image Source : TWITTER In the family of the newly appointed BCCI President Roger Binny, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *